You are in:  Home - News - Birlinn shortlisted for the Saltire Publisher of the Year 2017

Birlinn shortlisted for the Saltire Publisher of the Year 2017

Birlinn shortlisted for the Saltire Publisher of the Year 2017
13 October 2017
The Saltire shortlist announcement was made last night at Waterstones on Princes Street. Multi-award winning writers James Kelman, Bernard MacLaverty and Denise Mina feature alongside emerging talents Sandra Ireland, Ever Dundas and Kate Hunterin.

Widely regarded as Scotland’s most prestigious book awards, the Saltire Literary Awards are organised by the Saltire Society, a non-political independent charity founded in 1936 which aims to celebrate the Scottish imagination.

Established writer John Burnside – one of only two poets to have won both the T. S. Eliot Prize and the Forward Poetry Prize for the same book – features in both the Poetry and Fiction categories. He is up against new voices Em Strang and Jason Donald for the coveted prizes.

A collection of some of the most beautiful and historically significant maps from the National Library of Scotland’s archive, the exploration of the development of Muslim communities in Scotland, highlighting the ongoing changes in their structure and the move towards a Scottish experience of being Muslim, and a collection, covering 500 years of transgressive Gaelic poetry with new English translations all contribute to a rich line-up in the Research and Non- Fiction book of the Year Awards.

The Fiction Book of the Year shortlist features a number of acclaimed authors, including the latest novels from previous Saltire Literary Award winners James Kelman, Bernard MacLaverty and John Burnside. Also featured is Denise Mina,the first woman to win the McIllvanney prize for her shortlisted novel, The Long Drop.

The First Book of the Year shortlist is particularly varied, with beguiling historical tale Goblin by Ever Dundas, the interweaving of crime and taxidermy in Sandra Ireland’s Beneath the Skin alongside the candid life-memoir of an Italian Scot, Anne Pia.

The Shortlist, including The Publisher and Emerging Publisher of the Year, is as follows:

Publisher of the Year
404 Ink
BHP Comics
Vagabond Voices

Fiction Book of the Year
Ashland and Vine by John Burnside (Jonathan Cape)
Memory and Straw by Angus Peter Campbell (Luath)
Dalila by Jason Donald (Jonathan Cape)
That was a Shiver by James Kelman (Canongate)
Midwinter Break by Bernard MacLaverty (Jonathan Cape)
The Long Drop by Denise Mina (Harvill Secker)

Non-Fiction Book of the Year
Al-Britania, My Country: A Journey Through Muslim Britain by James Fergusson (Bantam)
Border: A Journey to the Edge of Europe by Kapka Kassabova (Graywolf)
The Passion of Harry Bingo: Further Dispatches from Unreported Scotland by Peter Ross (Sandstone)
Love of Country: A Hebridean Journey by Madeleine Bunting (Granta)
Waypoints: Seascapes and Stories of Scotland's West Coast by Ian Stephen (Adlard Coles Nautical)
Scotland: Mapping the Island by Christopher Fleet, Margaret Wilkes, Charles W. J. Withers (Birlinn)

First Book of the Year
Goblin by Ever Dundas (Freight)
Fallow by Daniel Shand (Sandstone)
Mary’s the Name by Ross Sayers (Cranachan)
Language of my Choosing: The candid life-memoir of an Italian Scot
by Anna Pia (Luath)
Beneath the Skin (Polygon)
The Case Room by Kate Hunter (Fledgling Press)

Research Book of the Year
Immortal Memory: Burns and the Scottish People by Christopher Whatley (John Donald)
The Campbells of the Ark: Men of Argyll in 1745 (Vol I & II) by Ronald Black (John Donald)
The Light Blue Book: 500 Years of Gaelic Love and Transgressive by Peter Mackay and Iain McPherson (Luath)
History as Theatrical Metaphor: History, Myth and National Identities in Modern Scottish Drama by Ian Brown (Palgrave MacMillan)
Muslims in Scotland: The Making of Community in a Post-9/11 World by Stefano Bonino (EUP)

Poetry Book of the Year
Moon for Sale by Richard Price (Carcanet)
In Search of Dustie-Fute by David Kinloch (Carcanet)
Twist by Pippa Little (Arc)
Bird-Woman by Em Strang (Shearsman)
Farm by the Shore by Thomas A. Clark (Carcanet)
Still Life with Feeding Snake by John Burnside (Jonathan Cape)

Saltire Emerging Publisher of the Year Award
Heather McDaid, 404 Ink
Kirstin Lamb, Barrington Stoke
Laura Jones, 404 Ink
Laura Waddell, Harper Collins

The winners will be announced at an awards ceremony held at the Central Hall, Edinburgh, on Thursday the 30th of November.