You are in:  Home - News - Alexander McCall Smith – writer and creator of The No.1 Ladies’ Detective Agency – receives major award

Alexander McCall Smith – writer and creator of The No.1 Ladies’ Detective Agency – receives major award

Alexander McCall Smith – writer and creator of <i>The No.1 Ladies’ Detective Agency</i> – receives major award
10 May 2017
The President, The Board of Governors, and The Literary Arts Committee of The National Arts Club of America have presented The Medal of Honour for Achievement in Literature to Alexander McCall Smith. The Award Ceremony took place on Tuesday, 9th of May, 2017 at the home of The National Arts Club in New York City. Alexander is thrilled that his work has been recognised with such a prestigious award.

Alexander commented, ‘I am honoured and delighted to receive this award. I have always very much valued my American readers and I am very touched that the National Arts Club has accorded me this honour.’ Past recipients of this award include most of the major literary figures of the twentieth and twenty-first centuries. Since 1968, recipients have included:

1968 Louis Auchincloss
1969 WH Auden
1970 SJ Perelman
1971 Ada Louise Huxtable
1972 Norman Cousins
1973 Anthony Burgess
1974 Eudora Welty
1975 Tennessee Williams
1976 Norman Mailer
1978 Saul Bellow
1979 Allen Ginsberg
1980 Isaac Bashevis Singer
1981 Leon Edel
1982 Barbara Tuchman
1983 James Laughlin
1984 John Updike
1985 Joseph Campbell
1986 Marguerite Yourcenar
1987 Robertson Davies
1988 Carlos Fuentes
1989 James Merrill
1990 Iris Murdoch
1991 Philip Roth
1992 Arthur Miller
 1993 Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn
1994 Richard Wilbur
1995 William Styron
1996 E.L. Doctorow
1997 Margaret Atwood
1998 Grace Paley
1999 Toni Morrison
2000 Nadine Gordimer
2001 Tom Wolfe
2002 Edna O’Brien
2003 Sir Tom Stoppard
2004 Shirley Hazzard
2005 Alice Munro
2006 P.D. James
2007 Chinua Achebe
2008 Don DeLillo
2009 Joyce Carol Oates
2010 David McCullough
2011 Edward Albee
2012 Martin Amis
2013 Salman Rushdie
2014 John Ashbery
2015 Paul Auster
2016 Jane Smiley

The National Arts Club was founded in 1898 by author and poet Charles De Kay, the literary and art critic for The New York Times. He, together with a group of distinguished artists and patrons, conceived of a gathering place to welcome artists of all genres as well as art lovers and patrons. At the turn of the twentieth century, American artists began to look to their own country rather than to Europe for inspiration, and the American art world was alive with energy. The newly-formed National Arts Club took residence in a mansion on 34th Street. American art had a new home. The National Arts Club continues its tradition of inclusivity by welcoming all artists. The mission of The National Arts Club is to stimulate, foster, and promote public interest in the arts and to educate the American people in the fine arts.

Edinburgh based writer, Alexander McCall Smith is best known for his No.1 Ladies’ Detective Agency series of books, set in Botswana. More than twenty-million copies of these books have been sold in English language editions and the books have been translated into forty-six languages around the world. There have been screen and radio adaptations of this much-loved series as well as stage plays. In addition, Alexander has written the much loved 44 Scotland Street series set in Edinburgh. This series appears first in daily chunks in the Scotsman newspaper before being gathered into book editions. This is now the longest running serial novel in the world. Alexander also writes the Isabel Dalhousie series, two popular children’s series and a number of stand-alone and non-fiction titles.