You are in:  Home - History - Scotland: Her Story (paperback)
Scotland: Her Story
Available February 2020

Forthcoming Publications, History, Social History
Publication Date
06 February 2020
Paperback (also available as an eBook)
Not Yet Published
Birlinn Ltd

Scotland: Her Story

The Nation’s History by the Women Who Lived It
by Rosemary Goring - Find out more about the author

Scotland’s history has been told many times, but never exclusively by its women. This book takes a unique perspective on dramatic national events as well as ordinary life, as experienced by women down the centuries. From the saintly but severe medieval Queen Margaret to today's first minister Nicola Sturgeon, it encompasses women from all stations of class and fame and notoriety, offering a tantalising view of what happened to them, and how they felt. Drawing on court and kirk records, exchequer rolls and treasurer’s accounts, diaries and memoirs, chap books and newspapers, government reports and eye-witness statements, Scotland: Her Story brings to life the half of history that has for too long been hidden or ignored.

Features material by from a hugely diverse range of authors, including:

The Maid of Norway • Princess Matilda • St Margaret • Margaret Tudor • Mary, Queen of Scots • Lady Grizel Baillie • Elsie Inglis • Mary Slessor • Catherine Dickens • Jane Carlyle • Lesely Riddoch • Catherine Carswell • Marie Stopes • Nan Shepherd • Leila Aboulela • Sue Black • Mary Contini • Rona Cameron • Elaine C. Smith • Jessie Kesson • Winnie Ewing • Muriel Spark • Liz Lochhead • Lulu • Janice Galloway • Jackie Kay • Ali Smith • Liz McColgan • Judy Murray • Nicola Benedetti • Nicola Sturgeon

Rosemary Goring was born in Dunbar and studied at the University of St Andrews. After graduation, she worked at W&R Chambers as a reference editor before becoming literary editor of Scotland on Sunday. She is the author of two historical novels, After Flodden and Dacre's War, and she is currently literary editor and columnist for The Herald and Sunday Herald.