You are in:  Home - Travel Writing, Adventure & Guides - Life Cycle: A Bike Ride Round Scotland and Back to Childhood
eBook only

Autobiography & Biography, Biography, Travel & Adventure, Travel Writing, Adventure & Guides
Publication Date
19 September 2013
Available as an eBook only
Available for Sale
Birlinn Limited
8pp colour plates

Life Cycle

A Bike Ride Round Scotland and Back to Childhood
by Gary Sutherland - Find out more about the author


eBook also available from the iBookstore

‘Part travelogue, part buddy movie storyboard, Life Cycle celebrates the simple pleasures and sense of achievement to be had by travelling, seeing the world from a different perspective and all via self-generated pedal power’ – Aberdeen Voice

'A humorous and entertaining book which amounts to a portrait of present day Scotland' – Scotsman

'Gary Sutherland's writing is unswervingly honest, making it humorous, not just mildly amusing, but as funny as only real life can be . . . delightful to read' – Scottish Field

'[A] humorous and keenly observed account' – Scots Magazine

A casual conversation between Gary Sutherland and his brother Stewart about going on a bike ride leads to an extraordinary trip in which they travel the length and breadth of Scotland.

In order to recapture some of the magic of childhood years spent cycling around their home town of Hopeman on the Morayshire coast, the Sutherland brothers – older but none the wiser – set off from the back gate of the house they grew up in on a journey of a thousand miles. From the mountains of the Highlands to the traffic-snarled streets of Edinburgh and Glasgow, they ate up Scotland on two wheels and became boys again, pedalling for all they were worth on a road trip of a lifetime that brought pain and laughter in equal measure.

Gary Sutherland was raised in Hopeman on the Moray Firth. He has worked as an ice cream maker, candyfloss maker, shortbread maker, teacher, bookseller, sports journalist and travel writer. He is the author of Hunting Grounds (2008) and Great Balls of Fire (2009).