You are in:  Home - History - Local History - Driftwood and Tangle
Driftwood and Tangle

Birlinn Origin, History, History, Local History, Social History
Publication Date
12 April 2018
Paperback (also available as an eBook)
Available for Sale
Birlinn Limited
8pp b/w plates

Driftwood and Tangle

by Margaret Leigh - Find out more about the author


Also available to download in the iBookstore

Driftwood and Tangle is a moving and poignant memoir of life in the north-west of Scotland just after the outbreak of the Second World War.

Margaret Leigh recounts the years she spent in Wester Ross, Moidart, Coigeach and Barra as a crofter, an activity which enabled her to experience the land in all its moods and capture the essence of this remote and beautiful part of Scotland in finely crafted prose.

In addition to her evocative description of the land itself, she also has much to say about the people who live there – their traditions and way of life which, at the time of writing, were under threat not only because of the inevitable march of ‘progress’ but also because of a war likely to engulf even this remote corner of Europe.

Margaret Leigh is the author of Spade Among the Rushes, Highland Homespun, Harvest of the Moor and My Kingdom for a Horse. A women of great independence she moved to Scotland from Cornwall in 1939, making the entire journey on horseback! She stayed in the Highlands throughout the war, returning to Cornwall in the late 1940s. Spade Among the Rushes reprinted three times for Birlinn and is one of the classics of highland life written by a sympathetic and sharply observant outsider.

Related books