You are in:  Home - Fiction - Attila
Available as an eBook only

eBook Only, Fiction, Historical Fiction
Publication Date
30 May 2007
eBook only
Out of Print (Available as an eBook)
Birlinn Limited


The Scourge of God
by Ross Laidlaw - Find out more about the author


This title is available as an eBook only

‘A tremendous story . . . the incursion into the empire of the strangest and most frightening of the barbarian invaders – and he tells it with great verve and vigour. His prose has a pace, he has a keen eye for the significant detail, and manages the big scenes confidently’ – Allan Massie, The Scotsman

Early fifth century AD. The Western Roman Empire has been overrun by German tribes. Too weak to expel them, the Imperial government has been forced to grant federate status to the invaders. Aetius, the last of the great Roman generals, becomes the virtual ruler of the West over the heads of a weak and vicious emperor and his ambitious mother. In a series of brilliant campaigns, he takes on the German tribes and forces them to settle peacefully. Meanwhile, his old friend Attila, leader of the Huns, launches a devastating attack on the Eastern Empire, before turning on the West. He is confronted by Aetius, now his bitter enemy. In the epic battle that ensues, the stakes for Attila and Aetius could not be higher as the fates of empires of both Romans and Huns hang in the balance.

This arresting novel deals with the rivalry between two great men whose friendship turns to enmity. Attila becomes corrupted by power, while Aetius is ennobled by it. Ross Laidlaw’s masterful portrayal of these two figures is based on his extensive knowledge of the period and is written in a narrative style that vividly evokes the brutality, decadence and desperation of this fascinating time in European history. 

Ross Laidlaw was born in Aberdeen and educated at Cambridge University. He has worked and travelled extensively in Southern Africa and currently lives in East Lothian, His novels include the much acclaimed The Lion Rampant (1979), The Linton Porcupine (1984) and Aphra Behn— Dispatch’d from Athole (1992).

Related books