You are in:  Home - Fiction - Classic Fiction - Agnes Owens The Complete Novellas
Agnes Owens The Complete Novellas
eBook only

Classic Fiction
Publication Date
31 August 2009
Available as an eBook only
Available for Sale
Birlinn Limited

Agnes Owens The Complete Novellas



eBook also available at the iBookstore

This complete collection of Agnes Owens' five novellas opens with 'Like Birds in the Wilderness', a portrait of brickie Mac. He's a straightforward guy with a talent for laying bricks and a liking for the drink who decides to head to the oil-rich north to seek his fortune. 'A Working Mother' is a wildly entertaining cautionary tale: while Betty's husband, Adam, broods and drinks (to be matched at times by Betty, just to be sociable) she flirts with their best friend Brendan and tries to avoid the roving hands of her new employer. They're all driving Betty crazy. 'For the Love of Willie Owens' takes a sensitive, canny look at wartime teenage pregnancy - a tale as relevant now as ever. 'Bad Attitudes' and 'Jen's Party' conclude the collection: both deadly, darkly funny stories about family relationships and love on the dole.

Agnes Owens, 1926–13 October 2014, married twice and raised seven children, and worked as a cleaner, typist and factory worker. Her books include People Like That and For the Love of Willie, which was shortlisted for the 1998 Stakis Prize. Her short stories also appeared alongside those of her friends and fellow authors James Kelman and Alasdair Gray in Lean Tales. Bad Attitudes, which consists of two novellas (‘Bad Attitudes’ and ‘Jen’s Party’), was longlisted for the 2003 Saltire Literary Awards.