You are in:  Home - Fiction - Wasp: Or, A Very Sweet Power
£12.99
Qty


ISBN:
9781846973079
Categories
Fiction
Imprint
Polygon
Publication Date
19 March 2015
Format
Hardback
Status
In stock
Publisher
Birlinn Ltd
Extent
368

Wasp

Or, A Very Sweet Power

                           

eBook also available from the iBookstore

‘Fans of Sarah Walters’ Fingersmith or Michael Faber’s Crimson Petal and the White will welcome the Wasp with its lucid prose, clever mix of the beautiful and the sordid and a compelling storyline which keeps you guessing till the last few pages’  – We Love This Book
 

For a gentleman seeking more prestigious company amidst the bawdy houses of an eighteenth-century city, the House of Masques provides the perfect no-touch escorts. Girls, highly educated and socially trained, are geisha-like status symbols for politicians, bankers and royalty alike.

Into this world comes Bethany Harris, a disgraced governess who has been rescued from a madhouse and transformed into the Masque named Wasp. She soon discovers that everyone in the House has a past, and personal horrors, coupled with dark ambition, are leading to a crisis that threatens to destroy the House of Masques and everyone in it.

Ian Garbutt has worked in journalism and publishing. He was awarded a Scottish Arts Council New Writer’s Bursary and attended Napier University, in Edinburgh, where he obtained a Master of Arts with Distinction in Creative Writing.