You are in:  Home - Fiction - 6. 1588: A Calendar of Crime
1588: A Calendar of Crime

Anthologies, Fiction, Forthcoming Publications, Historical Fiction, Short Stories, The 1588: A Calendar of Crime Series
Publication Date
10 November 2016
Not Yet Published
Birlinn Ltd

1588: A Calendar of Crime

A Novel in Five Books
by Shirley McKay - Find out more about the author

Set in the year of the Armada, 1588: A Calendar of Crime brings together five eBook exclusive short stories featuring Hew Cullan, together with Frances, Giles, Meg and other characters from the Hew Cullan series. From the gruesome murder of a candlemaker to Spanish ghosts on Hallowmas, Shirley McKay delivers five gripping tales of mystery that will keep you reading long into the night. The stories are being released throughout the year as stand alone eBooks before being gathered into the Calendar of Crime anthology.

Candlemas. ‘The Crackling House’

Whitsunday. ‘Visitation’

Lammas. ‘Golden Lads’

Martinmas. ‘Dead Spaniard’

Yule. ‘The Keeping of Christmas’

Shirley McKay was born in Tynemouth but now lives with her family in Fife. At the age of fifteen she won the Young Observer playwriting competition, her play being performed at the Royal Court Theatre Upstairs. She went on to study English and Linguistics at the University of St Andrews before attending Durham University for postgraduate study in Romantic and Seventeenth-Century prose. She was shortlisted for the CWA Debut Dagger. Shirley works as a freelance proofreader.

Related books